Flash Gordon


Release date: 12 September, 2023

Queen's ninth studio album was the original soundtrack to the movie based on the comic strip character Flash Gordon. It was the band's first sortie into the film world and would prove to be their only full soundtrack album. Later they would write several songs for the first Highlander adventure in 1986, which emerged (in reworked form) as the album A Kind Of Magic, also in that year, but that was not a soundtrack LP.

The Flash Gordon music was recorded for Director Mike Hodges and Producer Dino De Laurentiis' $22 million remake of the 1930's black and white sci-fi film. Queen were first approached in 1979, and as writing film music was something they had all thought about but had not yet got around to, their Manager arranged a meeting with De Laurentiis and mentioned Queen's interest in scoring the film. Rumour has it that De Laurentiis' first reaction was simply, “Who are the Queens?” They were, as it turned out, the first rock band he had ever listened to and the outcome was that the band was commissioned to write the music for the movie.

1. Flash's Theme

2. In the Space Capsule (The Love Theme)

3. Ming's Theme (In the Court of Ming the Merciless)

4. The Ring (Hypnotic Seduction of Dale)

5. Football Fight

6. In the Death Cell (Love Theme Reprise)

7. Execution of Flash

8. The Kiss (Aura Resurrects Flash)

9. Aboria (Planet of the Tree Men)

10. Escape from the Swamp

11. Flash to the Rescue

12. Vultan's Theme (Attack of the Hawk Men)

13. Battle Theme

14. The Wedding March

15. Marriage of Dale and Ming (And Flash Approaching)

16. Crash Drive On Mingo City

17. Flash's Theme Reprise (Victory Celebrations)

18. The Hero

Vinyl LP